Which laptop do programmers use?

Which laptop do programmers use? by Bogdan Tautu

Answer by Bogdan Tautu:

When I joined the company, I was asked what computer I want. After a quick search I came up with this:
Ideapad Y700 17.3" FHD IPS with i7-6700HQ CPU @ 3.5GHz

It came with only 8GB of RAM and 1TB HDD, but that changed…

I made a list of requirements that I need in order to find a computer that will satisfy my needs. This is just a reflexion of my personal needs and preferences and may be different from other programmers.

I was looking for a laptop because sometimes I take it home. I do so rarely so the weight did not bother me.
I'll give you the list I went through to choose this laptop.

  1. Powerful CPU that can handle compiling, playing music and web browsing at the same time. The i7-6700HQ did a great job but needed a little help from Process Lasso, a great little app that improves PC responsiveness!
  2. Great display with at least FHD resolution and wide viewing angles. I was looking for a non-touch display with good brightness (above 330 cd/m²) and vibrant colors. Preferably no screen flickering (PWM) when dimming the screen.
  3. Connectivity. I was looking for HDMI-out, Gigabit Ethernet, WLAN 802.11ac and Bluetooth.

In the end I asked for an upgrade from 8GB RAM to 32GB (16 is probably enough), added 256 GB of SSD for the OS and IDE and brought my favorite mechanical keyboard.

This is how it looks on my desk. The keyboard I use is CODE Mechanical Keyboard

I see this laptop right now is less than $1000 on Amazon.

Which laptop do programmers use?

Leave a Reply

